57. The Potting Shed @ Alexandria

A really cool place to chill for dinner and drinks.

Kurobuta Pork Belly Sliders 1 Mini Dogs 1 Popcorn chicken Jacket-Roasted Sweet Potato Bombolini 1 Fire marshmallows 2

Location: 41-43 Bourke Road, Alexandria NSW 2015 (about a 15-20 min walk from Green Square Station)

Hours: Everyday 11:30am onwards til late

Phone: (02) 9699 2225

 

The Potting Shed is a relatively new addition to the popular ‘The Grounds of Alexandria’. I’ve been to The Grounds but haven’t brought myself to posting about it…the lighting inside really sucked so the photos came out really dark…but maybe one day. The lighting here was no better but I plucked up the nerve to flash my camera torch for the meal – it’s less weird taking at night than during the day. Still an embarrassment to my friends though…hehe~ thank you for putting up with me and my super bright flashlight ^^v The photos came out really bright and shiny but I didn’t want to filter them cos…lazy :P

Potting Shed 20140802_183729_wm

That shovel clipboard is so creatively cool!!!!!

Toiler's Tonic

Toilers Tonic ($15)

A refreshingly fruity and sweet cocktail made of basil vodka limocello and strawberry blitz  with a spritz of lime and ginger beer.

Kurobuta Pork Belly Sliders 1Kurobuta Pork Belly Sliders 2

Kurobuta Pork Belly Sliders ($16)

A piece of Japanese styled kurobuta pork belly, kimchi, purple cabbage and red-eye mayo sandwiched between mini charcoal brioche buns and a side of pork crackling. Yummy. But I think I just don’t like charcoal buns in general because they’re more on the dry side of the scale. I think they look awesome though and I’m a sucker for aesthetics.

Mini Dogs 1Mini Dogs 2

Mini Dogs ($16)

Their very own kurobuta pork & fennel sausages with a caraway seed, cabbage and apple slaw, white onions and a yummy creamy dill & mustard sauce. This was very very very good, especially the sausage. The onions tasted a bit spicy in the raw way (bleeeeh) but, it’s healthy right?

Popcorn chicken

Buttermilk Popcorn Chicken ($12)

Cutely served in a ceramic pot with side of honey mustard, these have got to be the biggest popcorn chickens ever! And very tasty :3

Jacket-Roasted Sweet Potato

Jacket-Roasted Sweet Potato ($9)

Sweet potato roasted with rock salt and crispy shallots. There’s nothing really special about this – I ordered this because I like sweet potato~ Sadly the rock salt (?) disturbed the natural sweetness of the sweet potato by adding an unwanted salty (almost sour-like) taste to some parts >:( That or my taste buds were being weird and tasting things that weren’t there…

Bombolini 1 Bombolini 2

Cherry & Hazelnut Bombolini ($12)

Served with spiked mascarpone and cinnamon sugar. The name ‘bomboloni’ got me simply because it sounded funny. Had to Google what it was but I was pretty much set on ordering this. Well I did see a chocolate pudding afterwards and had a couple of moments to toss between the two but I still ended up getting this. Anyway, Google told me a bomboloni is an Italian style filled donut so I expected a cherry jam and hazelnut centre of some sort but alas it was empty. The jam was instead spread across the plate along with the mascarpone, creating a cosy bed for three bombolini’s.

By itself, the bomboloni’s were just dry donuts but the jam and mascarpone made it awesome. It’s like the jam and whipped cream to scones – absolutely essential. Sadly not enough jam and mascarpone for me since I like to really load the stuff on but it’s a good dessert to end on if you don’t want something overly sweet.

Other food ordered by friends just for show-and-not-tell (since I didn’t try) purposes~

Rum coffee cobbler Some drink

 

Rum Coffee Cobbler ($17) & something I don’t know….

Chilli-salt squid

Chilli-Salt Squid ($15) – half finished haha

Pasture-Fed Angus Eye Fillet

Pasture-Fed Angus Eye Fillet ($28)

Short rib

Slow Cooked Grain-Fed Angus Short Rib ($23)

Cheeseburger

David Blackmore Full-Blooded Wagyu Cheeseburger ($21)

Chocolate pudding

Self-Saucing Chocolate Pudding ($14)

Banana tarte tatin

Banana Tarte Tatin ($14)

Finally, fancy a marshmallow on the way out? Yes!

Fire marshmallows 2

I actually failed to notice the bowl of marshmallows and tin of skewers next to the wheelbarrow wood fire on the way inside but it couldn’t escape my attention on my way out. Genius warmth-generating feature for the winter weather!! :3

The Potting Shed has a pretty cool vibe. We were struggling for table space though. At one point we tried fitting almost 9 dishes (?) onto one table which was rather small and we were sharing the tight space between 5 people. It proved to be challenging but eventually do-able. Being super busy on a Saturday night  it was understandable that they couldn’t spare us another table but despite this, I’d still like to go back to try some other things I missed out on. Like that cheeseburger. *drools*

P.S Happy birthday to a coffee-loving friend of mine! Thanks for proposing Potting Shed ~

:)

CJ

The Potting Shed on Urbanspoon

Location: 41-43 Bourke Road, Alexandria NSW 2015

Hours: Everyday 11:30am – midnight

Phone: (02) 9699 2225

Published by

brokenhana

Food brings joy to the taste buds and travel serves as food for the soul.

2 thoughts on “57. The Potting Shed @ Alexandria”

  1. I’m with you on the charcoal burgers – I really don’t like them as much as I don’t find them as tasty or moist! I haven’t been to the Potting Shed yet, but I’m heading to The Grounds this weekend for brunch – maybe I’ll check it out then?

    1. Ohhhh, did you end up checking out Potting Shed this weekend? I would personally go to the two places on separate days simply because of how full I become after each meal (I really pig out each time, hehe) and there’s nothing much to do in between meals

Leave a comment