37. The Breakfast Club – Single Origin Roasters @ Surry Hills

I had my first and only Good Food Month breakfast on Thursday morning – it has been really difficult to find a day I could go for The Breakfast Club since they’re only offered on weekdays. But hurrah! I made it to one. So here’s my yumcha brekkie experience at Single Origin Roasters on 24/10/2013~

2013-10-24 09.07.09-1

 

2013-10-24 08.53.17-1

Cascara – coffee-cherry fruit tea. Being a non-coffee person, this tasted like herbal medicine to me…but I finish my cup! *proud moment* It apparently has a lot of caffeine…

2013-10-26 01.12.29

Breakfast served in traditional Chinese steamers, pretty cool.

2013-10-24 09.07.09-1

Layin’ it all out~

2013-10-24 09.07.43-1

Course 1: Rice paper roll with carrots and cumin puree, coriander and sesame seed served with a chilli soy sauce and soy reduction. The orange thing inside the roll tasted like pumpkin mash…

2013-10-24 09.07.15-1

Course 2: Homemade bacon bun served with a house chilli sauce. I’m guessing this is Single O’s twist on the ‘cha siu bao’ (Chinese pork bun). It tasted pretty good but I had more bun than meat. This was only me though, my friend’s portion was even/more generous with the  filling. That being said, I liked the bun more than the meat… :D

2013-10-24 09.09.07-1

Course 3: Almond cake with creme fresh and green tea marbled white chocolate.

2013-10-24 09.24.34-1

It looked so pretty!! I love that green piece of marbled white chocolate. I didn’t like the rest of the dessert though, unfortunately. It had a bit of sour zing mixed with a cream cheese taste. Definitely not a fan of creme fraiche…It was weird…but it’s still so pretty. So yeah, to me it looked better than it tasted. 

2013-10-24 09.36.35-1

2013-10-24 09.36.19-1

Yummy-looking muffins

2013-10-24 13.09.14-1

Upon recommendation from a foodie friend, I had to take one away. I chose the strawberry yoghurt :) So good. It’s soft, fluffy and it ain’t too sweet! They also sell savoury muffins which I find a bit weird…maybe I’ll give one a try next time, like the bacon and cheese one. mmmmmm.

Location: 64 Reservior St, Surry Hills (Sydney)

For more information, check this out: http://sydney.goodfoodmonth.com/details?deal=129858

Note that the yumcha menu changes weekly throughout the month so what you see here probably won’t be what you see next week.

The breakfast was quite novelty, but I love novelty! It was interesting and even though not all the dishes were 100% suited to my palate, my eyes (and s4) could at least feed on it. So I admit that I was slightly disappointed with the taste of the food overall but it was still a good experience. The staff were nice friendly and the atmosphere was quite chillaxing. This place is supposed to be very good at it’s coffee brewing, but I can’t tell since…yeah. I don’t like/drink coffee.

:)

CJ

Single Origin Roasters on Urbanspoon

3 thoughts on “37. The Breakfast Club – Single Origin Roasters @ Surry Hills

Leave a Reply

