26. New Ramen Love: Hakata-Maru Ramen @ Market City

I just can’t contain myself, gotta spread my new ramen love. I hope I’m not over-hyping this, I think I’ve been going around telling everyone I see about this place…but I really do like it!

Hakata-Maru Ramen, Market City

 

Hakata Maru Ramen

Shop Front

How to order; How to eat the wings

Click to enlarge and read :)

Dilligently cooking

Working hard preparing our order

Hard at work

Working hard draining our ramen

HI!

Friendly staff taking time off to give a friendly peace sign for the camera! :D The female staff gave me a peace sign too but I missed it :( Devo >< ごめんγͺγ•γ„γ¨γ‚γ‚ŠγŒγ¨γ†γ”γ–γ„γΎγ™ο½ž

Shop front (2)

Waiting for our food~

White Tonkotsu with a side of Wings

White Tonkotsu with a side of gyoza

Black Tonkotsu with Tonkatsu

Toppings

Additional toppings section – I like sesame

White Tonkotsu Ramen

White Tonkotsu – The original, topped with a tonne of sesame :D

Black Tonkotsu

Black Tonkotsu topped with dark garlic oil and fried garlic flakes, also with a tonne of sesame :D – pretty good

Side of Chicken Wings

Side of Chicken Wings with Salad

Side of Gyoza

Side of Gyoza

Tonkatsu

Side of Tonkatsu with Salad

Location: Market City Food Court, Haymarket (Sydney) – Nice surprise!

It hasn’t been opened for too long, only since July and the shop front really stands out in the food court – in a good way.

I’ve never really liked ramen in the past. It was always either the noodles were too eggy or too soft, or the soup base being too thick or salty. Or an unfortunate combination. Despite that, I’ve never given up on trying ramen with the rare cravings once in a while. Only at selective places though. And only with tonkotsu (pork bone) soup base. Man, I must sound so picky.

Anyway, Hakata Maru Ramen is one of the few places I would return to for ramen. And what’s even better is that all the soup bases are tonkotsu! Omnom. From the noodles to the soup base to the side dishes to the shop front to the price and to the staff, they’re all awesome! This post documents two visits on consecutive days :D I haven’t tried the ‘red tonkotsu’ which I heard is a bit spicy, eek! But maybe one day.

:)

CJ
Hakata-Maru Ramen on Urbanspoon

2 thoughts on “26. New Ramen Love: Hakata-Maru Ramen @ Market City

  1. The ramen looks awesome! I ate too much of it during the first half of my trip and got burned out but now, thanks to your post, I think my ramen love is returning!

Leave a Reply

