20. Breakfast at Devon Cafe @ Surry Hills

Woke up early to have breakfast here – was worth it.

Devon Cafe, Surry Hills

 

Shop Front 1

We sat by that big open window! Fresh morning air was all ours~ So chilled and we could people watch if we wanted >:)

Shop Front 2

Table Setting

Breakfast

Freshly Squeezed Orange Juice and the Merry Berry

Freshly Squeezed Orange Juice & A Merry Berry (Blueberry, Raspberry, Yoghurt, Ice Cream, Honey). So cool how it’s presented in a jar!!

Breakfast with the Sakuma's

Breakfast with the Sakuma’s – Miso grilled king salmon, smoked eel croquette, 63′ egg, raddish petite salad & kewpie mayonnaise

63' Egg

Mmmmm look at 63′ egg.

Miso Grilled King Salmon

The grilled salmon was so good. Nom.

Smoked Eel Croquette

Smoke Eel Croquette – I assume the smoked eel was inside but it was really subtle since it just tasted like rice to me…Gotta eat it with the kewpie mayonnaise otherwise it tastes a bit plain.

Just Eggs

Just Eggs ft 2 poached eggs with toasted sourdough and butter. A bit plain, I agree – It’s missing sides of sausages or something. Next time!

2013-09-28 09.35.13-1

I don’t particularly fancy crust so I cut it off. Took quite a bit of arm strength… but I likey the horseshoe shape :D

Baked goods

Baked goods at the counter

Macarons

Macarons. I really wanted to try that black vanilla macaron (front centre) but I was way too full to fit that in by the end of the meal… Maybe next time.

Location: 76 Devonshire St, Surry Hills (Sydney)

We almost walked past this cafe thinking it was deeper into Surry Hills but it was surprisingly really close to Central Station – about a 5 minute walk, maybe a bit less.

Anyway, my friend and I did the impossible, we woke up early. Motivation? Devon Cafe. We’ve both heard and read really good things about this little cafe in Surry Hills so we were keen beans to try it out. I love how the cafe is set and the ambiance is so chilled that I would stay there all day if I could. Anyway, this visit was for breakfast and it was good, but I really want to try the lunch next menu next time. The ‘Flying Chook’ sounds so good!

:)

CJ

Devon Cafe on Urbanspoon

Published by

brokenhana

Food brings joy to the taste buds and travel serves as food for the soul.

Leave a Reply

